Search
  • Ed Kivell

Gmail Tricks to End Annoyances


How to unsend Gmail messages

Nearly everyone has caught a typo after hitting Send. Or worse, wished they could renege on whatever profanity-laced missive they just fired off in the heat of the moment. Thankfully, Gmail offers an undo feature, but it comes with a time limit to undo what you just sent.

By default, Gmail gives you five seconds to take it all back, but you can increase it up to 30 seconds to give your future self more time to fix a mistake. So -

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner and navigate to Settings > General.

  2. Toward the top of the list of settings, you'll find Undo Send:

  3. followed by a drop-down menu.

  4. Change it from 5 to 10, 20 or 30 seconds and you're set.

You now have that much longer to change your mind by clicking Undo on the banner you'll see at the bottom of the screen after you send off your message.

When your phone dies, send texts from Gmail instead

You don't need a charged phone with a data or Wi-Fi connection to send a text message -- Gmail can handle it for you right from your desktop. All you have to know is the recipient's phone number and carrier. To send them an SMS, compose an email putting their 10-digit phone number (no dashes) as the username and their carrier's gateway address (available on carriers' websites) as the domain in the "to" field.

For example, an email-based text to a Verizon customer would look something like 0123456789@vtext.com. Other common domains include @mms.att.net for AT&T, @messaging.sprintpcs.com for Sprint and @tmomail.net for T-Mobile.

Forgot to sign out? Log out remotely

If you often check your Gmail from a public computer, like at a library or school, you may occasionally forget to log out of your account when you're done, leaving yourself vulnerable to attack. Having access to your password-protected Gmail account may be all an identity thief needs to gain control of your bank accounts, credit cards and,and related. Fortunately, Gmail allows you to view and log out of any computers or devices you're currently logged into.

  1. First, scroll to the bottom of your Gmail page, and click Details (the link is directly beneath the message that reads Last account activity).

  2. This will pop up a page that shows everywhere you're currently logged in.

  3. Clicking the button at the top labeled Sign out all other Gmail web sessions will log you out of every session besides the one you're currently in.

#s3gt_translate_tooltip_mini { display: none !important; }


0 views